FANDOM


QuestionEdit

Another conclusion I have come to based on previous rulings is that abilities can create "floating" abilities. Is this true? If so, where do these abilities live and how are they governed? Some examples include:

  • Paid abilities with trashing as the cost still resolve even though the card is no longer active[1]
  • Sneakdoor Beta's ability still resolves even if it gets trashed during the course of the run on Archives[2]
  • Joshua B. still gives you a tag even if you sell him to Aesop's Pawnshop[3]
  • Any subroutine (required conditional abilities) that creates constant effects (such as Chum's +2 strength for the next ice)

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly Once triggered, abilities exist independently of the source. So when you trash a card as a cost, the ability still resolves based on the game state that existed when the card was trashed.

Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.