Android Netrunner Comprehensive Unofficial Rules Wiki
Advertisement

Question[]

If abilities can indeed have triggers or effects with other types of abilities nested in them, how does this work with if/when abilities? The FAQ tells us that some of these are conditional "when accessed" abilities[1], so that leads me to believe that the key word denoting an ability as a conditional triggered ability does not necessarily need to be at the beginning of or even in the first clause of an ability, in addition to lending evidence to the nested ability model. (Related cards include Corporate War, Market Research, Aggressive Secretary, Cerebral Overwriter, Edge of World, Psychic Field, Snare!, and Subliminal Messaging.)

Answer[]

Tybb-sly We try to make the ability listed first in the sentence the primary ability word. Cards like Aggressive Secretary, however, require a cost to be paid, and the “If” does not turn that triggered ability into a constant ability.
Advertisement