Whenever you expose a card, the Corp must rez it paying its rez cost, if able.

Limit 1 console per player.
The power of the focused mind is a power beyond comprehension.

Related FAQsEdit

  • FAQ 1.4.29 - When the Runner plays Satellite Uplink with Blackguard installed, the two cards are chosen then exposed at the same time. Blackguard triggers from both exposes simultaneously, so the Runner chooses the order that the cards must be rezzed.
  • FAQ 1.4.30 - Blackguard cannot be used to force the Corporation to rez an Archer.

Related RulingsEdit

  • Confirmed by the above FAQ: The Runner chooses the order that the two cards exposed by Satellite Uplink must be rezzed.[1]:Ruling
  • If the Runner uses Snitch to expose a piece of ice with an additional cost to rez, the Corporation must decide whether or not to rez the ice before the Runner has the choice to jack out.[2]:Ruling
  • Nasir Meidan's ability triggers if the Runner uses Blackguard to force the Corporation to rez a piece of ice being approached anytime after Step 2 of a run.[3]:Ruling


  1. Blackguard + Satellite Uplink Rulings
    As a runner, lets say I have blackguard installed. Corp has 6 credits. I use satellite uplink for my first click and target an asset and and ice in front of it. Lets say this is a viktor 2.0 (5 to rez) and a San San (6 to rez). He must rez if able, but who chooses which one and in which order?
    Both of the cards are exposed at the same time, and the Runner chooses each card before resolving the effect. The Runner can then pick the order that the Blackguard triggers resolve in, since they are simultaneous.
  2. Cascading Triggers Rulings, Question 1
    For instance, say as the Runner I have a Cortez Chip in play, and I trash it to target the first piece of ice on a server. Then I make a run on that server and use Snitch to expose the piece of ice I targeted with Cortez Chip. Because Cortez Chip adds an "additional" cost of 2 credits, I assume that even though I have Blackguard in play, the Corp can decline to pay that additional 2 credits and thus avoid having to pay anything to rez the ice. However, what I would like to know is whether the Corp makes the decision to rez the ice before or after the Runner has to make the decision to jack out with Snitch.
    The Corp would have to decide whether or not to rez the ice before the Runner chooses to jack out. The jack out effect on Snitch comes after the expose effect.
  3. Nasir Forced Rez Timing Ruling
    I'm wondering what constitutes "just rezzed" on Nasir Meidan. For example, if Nasir Meidan makes a run with a Snitch, Blackguard, and a Raymond Flint installed, we get a handful of possibilities:

    a) He could expose the ice when Snitch triggers at step 2 of the approach phase.

    b) He could expose the ice by trashing Raymond Flint at 2.1 of the approach phase.

    c) If the corp declines to rez normally, he could expose the ice by trashing Raymond Flint at 2.3 of the approach phase.

    d) With Raymond Flint, he could expose the *next* piece of ice, which he is not currently approaching, during 3.1 of an earlier encounter.
    “Just rezzed” refers to anything that has happened at 2 onward.

    a. Works.

    b. Works.

    c. Works.

    d. Doesn’t work.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.