Suppose there are two copies of NEXT Silver rezzed, and no other NEXT ice. The runner has , , and installed. The runner encounters one of them, uses Grappling Hook to break one subroutine, and then uses Clone Chip to bring out a on the other NEXT Silver, killing it immediately.
Is the one subroutine of the ice being encountered broken, or unbroken?
Suppose I make a run and encounter . Suppose it has at least three subroutines, and I use Grappling Hook to break all but one of them. I then trash to force the corp to discard two cards from HQ, and cause Ashigaru to lose two subroutines. Then any remaining unbroken subroutines resolve. Does the run end?
|The gaining and losing of subroutines are tracked as a running total. So if Ashigaru has 4 subroutines, and you break 3, and then it loses 2, you have broken all subroutines on it and the run continues.|
As before, the runner encounters Ashigaru with 4 subroutines, breaks 3 with Grappling Hook, then uses Utopia Shard to subtract 2 subroutines. If the corp then draws 1 card with , so that Ashigaru has 3 subroutines, will the third subroutine be broken or unbroken?
This ruling implies that subroutines are not specific in the order or instance that they appear on ice.