A conditional ability is a type of triggered ability that has a specific condition for a trigger. Conditional abilities typically use the "when/ever" convention. There are two types of conditional abilities: optional conditional abilities and required conditional abilities.

Page 21, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 1, Core Rule Book
In order for a conditional ability to trigger, a trigger condition must be met. A conditional ability can only be resolved once per trigger condition. Trigger conditions commonly use the terms "When" or "Whenever" in their card text. An example of a conditional ability is the card PAD Campaign, which reads, "Gain 1Credit when your turn begins."

Non-Resolvable AbilitiesEdit

If a simultaneous or chain reaction effect causes the game state to advance past the trigger of a conditional ability that has already triggered but not yet resolved, then that ability fails to resolve.

Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 1, FAQ
Conditional abilities resolve after meeting their trigger condition. However, if the game state advances past the trigger condition due to simultaneous effects or a chain reaction, then the triggered ability cannot be resolved.

FAQ 1.5.33Edit

From the FAQ

Conditional abilities can only resolve if the card with the ability is active when the trigger condition is met.

Page 11, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 5, FAQ
The Runner has Security Testing and Aesop's Pawnshop installed. At the start of his turn, the Runner names a server for Security Testing, then sells it to Aesop's Pawnshop. The first time he makes a successful run on that server, does he gain 2 credits instead of accessing cards?
No. A conditional ability can only resolve if it the card it is on is active when the trigger condition is met, and Security Testing is no longer active after it is trashed. Security Testing has two conditional abilities on it (like Femme Fatale), unlike Joshua B., who has one.

Simultaneous EffectsEdit

When more than one ability have the same timing trigger or ability to be triggered at the same time, there are two criteria for determining the order or resolution.

1. Turn PriorityEdit

First, the player whose turn it is resolves all of his/her simultaneous effects. Then the other player resolves all of his/her own simultaneous effects second.

Page 22, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 4, Core Rule Book
If players ever want to perform simultaneous effects at the same time, the player whose turn it is resolves all of his effects first.

2. Player ChoiceEdit

When resolving his/her simultaneous effects, a player gets to choose the order his/her simultaneous effects trigger (but of course never the order his/her opponent's effects).

Page 22, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 3, Core Rule Book
When one or more abilities have the same timing trigger or can be triggered at the same time, each player chooses the order his own abilities trigger. A player can trigger an optional conditional ability before a required conditional ability if they both have the same trigger condition.

When Accessed AbilitiesEdit

"When accessed" abilities always trigger, even if the card with the ability is inactive at the time of access.

Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5, FAQ
A card with an ability that triggers when the card is accessed does not have to be active in order for the ability to trigger. When resolving such an ability, just follow the instructions on the card.

Related FAQsEdit

Related RulingsEdit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.