Demolition Run was removed from the example for the "If successful…" rules in FAQ 1.5

In FAQ 1.4, Demolition Run was used as an example for an "if successful…" effect with a declared server. However, Demolition Run does not have an "if successful…" effect, so it is not bound by the restrictions of an "if successful…" effect.


The FAQ states, "Example: The Runner plays Demolition Run on HQ. During the run, a Bullfrog moves the Runner to a remote server. Even though the run is successful, the Runner cannot use the "If successful…" effect on Demolition Run because the run was not successful against R&D or HQ. If the Bullfrog moved the Runner to R&D, the ability would trigger when the run was successful."

However, Demolition Run does not say "if successful" anywhere. Should this be errata?


Tybb-sly You are correct that Demolition Run does not say "If successful..." A different card should have been chosen for the example, and this will be updated in the next FAQ. In fact, Demolition Run should work on the remote server since it has no conditional.


This ruling combined with the "Run Events with Mid-run Effects Ruling", seems to imply that effects in a run event which specify a server are dependent on that run remaining on said server only if the run event contains a conditional clause.


Posted to Board Game Geek by Harris Ennis on May 12, 2014

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.