FANDOM


Card Errata


See also the Cards with errata category.

This section contains the official errata that have been made on individual cards in Android: Netrunner. The most recent printings of the cards have the corrected text.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 1

e3 Feedback Implants

Should read: "…you may pay 1Credit to break 1 subroutine on that ice." (Removed "additional".)

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 2

Burke Bugs

Should read: "…If successful, the Runner trashes 1 installed program.".

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Pawn

Should read: "Whenever you make a successful run while Pawn is hosted on a piece of ice, move Pawn to the piece of ice directly after the current ice hosting Pawn, if able…"

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 4

Q-Coherence Chip

Should read: "Trash Q-Coherence Chip when an installed program is trashed."

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 5


Rules Clarifications



This section contains the official rule clarifications and enhancements for Android: Netrunner. Used in conjunction with the core set rulebook, these clarifications and enhancements should enable a player to navigate through the most complex situations that can arise while playing the game.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 6

Accessing

When accessed abilities

A card with an ability that triggers when the card is accessed does not have to be active in order for the ability to trigger. When resolving such an ability, just follow the instructions on the card.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 7


Accessing Archives

When accessing cards in Archives, the Runner turns all cards faceup in Archives before accessing them. Then he accesses and resolves individual cards one by one, in any order he wants.

If the Runner uses a replacement effect, then he does not turn any facedown cards faceup.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraphs 9-10


Accessing Multiple Cards from HQ

When the Runner accesses multiple cards from HQ, the cards are accessed one at a time, and do not return to HQ until the Runner is finished accessing.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 11


Accessing Multiple Cards from R&D

The Runner can intersperse accessing cards from R&D with any upgrades installed in the root of R&D. The Runner cannot choose to access the cards in R&D out of order.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Scoring and Stealing Agendas

Advancement tokens are removed from an agenda whenever it is scored or stolen.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 3

Terminology

"Additional"

The word "additional" denotes an ability that modifies another ability or a game state. The additional ability is resolves simultaneously with any ability it is modifying, and under the same conditions as that ability.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 4

"All"

The word "all" includes the number zero.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 5

"Bypass"

When an effect allows the Runner to "bypass" a piece of ice, he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. All subroutines (including 0) on the ice bypassed are not broken.

Bypassing prevents any unresolved conditional abilities that met their trigger condition when the ice was encountered from resolving.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraphs 7-9

"Hosted"

"Hosted" is always self-referential and refers to cards and tokens hosted on that card, unless otherwise noted. Cards are always hosted faceup, unless otherwise noted.

FAQ 2.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 11

"Limit 1 console per player."

This restriction refers only to active consoles. A player can have multiple copies of a console, and even different consoles, in his deck.

The limit of 1 console per player prevents the Runner from installing a second console, even if the Runner wishes to trash the first.

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraphs 1-2

"If successful..."

Whenever there is an "If successful…" effect tied to the outcome of a run, the run itself must have been successful against the specified server(s), if applicable. If the Runner initiates a run against the specified server but ends the run on a different server, the "If successful…" effect does not resolve when the run is successful.

If the ability including "If successful…" does not specify a server, then it does not matter if the attacked server is changed during the run, and the ability resolves as normal.

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraphs 3-5

"Normally be Trashed"

Trashing cards that "cannot normally trashed" only refers to trashing cards that do not have a trash cost.

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 6

Installed

Events, operations,a nd identity cards are never installed.

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 7

Uninstalled

Anytime an installed card enters HQ, R&D, Archives, or the Runner's grip, stack, or heap, or is removed from the game, the card has been "uninstalled."

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 8

"Using"

Any time an ability is optional, the player resolving the ability is "using" the ability. This includes all paid abilities and all optional conditional abilities (triggered abilities that use the word "may" or "allows").

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 9

Actions and Abilities

Triggering Actions and Abilities

A player cannot trigger an action/ability unless he is also able to resolve it.

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 10

Chain Reactions

If during the resolution of an ability another ability meets its trigger condition, then a "chain reaction" is created. The ability that just met its trigger condition resolves immediately following the active effect on the current ability. If this ability results in another ability meeting its trigger condition, then that ability is also "chained." Resolve all the abilities from the most recent trigger condition before continuing.

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 11

Subroutines

Unless specified otherwise, the Corporation always chooses the effects of a subroutine, when necessary.

FAQ 2.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 2

Replacement Effects

Replacement effects can only occur once per trigger. A replacement effect uses the word "instead".

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Using Icebreakers

The Runner can boost the strength of his icebreakers outside of an encounter with a piece of ice. However, unless that icebreaker says otherwise, its strength is immediately reset to its previous value.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Breaking Subroutines

The Runner cannot break subroutines on a piece of ice outside of an encounter with that ice.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 4

Prevent/Avoid Effects

Prevent/Avoid effects take priority over conditional abilities that would trigger from whatever is being prevented or avoided, except when a conditional ability uses the word "additional". An "additional" conditional ability occurs simultaneously with the trigger condition and can be prevented/avoided along with the trigger condition.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 5

Installing Multiple Cards

Whenever multiple cards are installed by the same effect, those cards are installed one at a time.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 6

Rezzing cards

The Corporation may rez non-ice cards after the Runner approaches any piece of ice.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 8

Costs

Memory Cost

For the purposes of card abilities, a program's memory cost is not considered an additional cost.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 9

Trashing as a Cost

If the cost of a paid ability requires a card to be trashed, then preventing that card from being trashed prevents the cost from being paid and the paid ability does not resolve.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 11

Additional Costs

A player may decline to pay an additional cost, even if he is able to do so.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Rez Cost & Play Cost

Rez and play costs are formulas that take into account any effects that modify them. They are not just the printed number on the card.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraph 2

Other

Hosting

"Hosting" is the result of placing a card, counter, or token on top of a card, creating a relationship between the host card and what is hosted. If a card allows other cards to be hosted on it, those cards must be hosted on the card when they are installed, unless a card says otherwise.

Hosted counters or tokens can be spent without affecting their host. If a trigger cost requires one or more hosted counters or tokens, those counters or tokens are "spent" by being returned to the token bank from the card the ability appears on.

If a host is trashed or uninstalled, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted on it are also trashed. This cannot be prevented. If a host Corp card is derezzed, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted no it remain hosted.

The state of hosting is distinct (but not exclusive from) the state of installing. Most cards are hosted on another card when they are installed. If a card is hosted but not installed, the card is inactive.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraph 4-7

Destruction of Servers

The Crop cannot choose to destroy a server when installing cards; at least one card must be installed for other cards in or protecting that server to be trashed.

If there are no cards installed in or protecting a remote sever, then the sever immediately ceases to exist. If a server ceases to exist during a run, the run immediately ends. Unless the run has passed step 4.4 of the timing structure of a run, it is not considered to be successful or unsuccessful.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraphs 10-11

Destruction of Ice

If a piece of ice is destroyed during an approach or encounter with that piece of ice, then the ice is immediately passed and the run continues. Any open paid ability window closes immediately.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraph 10

Subtypes

A card has all of its subtypes when it is inactive.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraph 11

Encountering Ice

When the Runner encounters a piece of ice, he must resolve any abilities triggered by the encounter before he can trigger paid abilities or break subroutines.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraph 12

Recurring Credits

Recurring credits are placed on a card when the card becomes active, and can be used immediately. Recurring credits do not stack; a player replaces recurring credits up to the number listed on the card when his or her turn begins. This occurs at step 1.2 of the Runner's turn, before any conditional abilities can be triggered. Recurring credits are only ever replaced up to their current value, not removed.

FAQ 2.0|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Search

If a player is searching for a card, he must find the card(s), if able. If a player is unable to fulfill the condition of the search, then nothing happens, but the deck is always reshuffled.

FAQ 2.0|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 2

Choosing Multiple Cards

If an ability allows a player to choose multiple cards, all of the cards must be chosen before the effect resolves.

FAQ 2.0|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Revealing Cards

If a Corporation card is not visible to the Runner when it is trashed or discarded, then it is sent to Archives facedown. If a Corporation card is visible to the Runner when it is trashed or discarded, it is sent to Archives faceup.

If a specific card or card type in an inactive state is chosen by a card effect, the Corporation must show that card to the Runner without changing its faceup or facedown status. The Corporation only reveals the card if it was facedown and the effect says he must reveal it.

FAQ 2.0|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraphs 7-8

Negative Strength

Ice and icebreakers can have negative strength.

FAQ 2.0|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 7

Card Memory

Whenever a card is uninstalled, there is no memory of its previous state and it is considered to be a new copy of the card.

FAQ 2.0|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 8

Infinite Loops

If an infinite loop is created, the player responsible for the loop must choose a number. The loop instantaneously resolves that many times, and then ends.

The Runner must jack out to end an infinite loop that occurs during a run, unless a card ability prevents that from occurring. If the Runner cannot jack out, then it is the Corp's responsibility to end the loop by letting the Runner through to the server.

FAQ 2.0|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraphs 9-10

Approaching Ice

The Runner approaches the outermost piece of ice not already approached during the run on a server only if that ice is closer to the server than the last encountered piece of ice.

FAQ 2.0|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 11


Card Clarifications


See also the Cards with clarifications category.

This section addresses rules interactions with regard to specific cards. The cards are sorted by set and then by card number.

FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Core Set

Noise

  • Cards trashed by Noise's ability are placed facedown in Archives.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraph 2

Demolition Run

  • The Runner can trash an agenda accessed with Demolition Run, instead of stealing it.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Djinn

  • The Runner cannot move other installed programs to Djinn when it is installed.
  • When the Runner installs a program, he has the choice of installing it directly into his rig or on Djinn. He cannot move programs onto Djinn at a later point.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraphs 4-5

Medium

  • Before accessing cards from R&D at step 4.5 of a run, the Runner chooses how many cards he wants to access when using Medium.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraph 6

Parasite

  • Parasite cannot be hosted on Djinn. A card or counter can only be hosted in one place at a time, and Parasite has the restriction that it must be installed on a piece of ice.
  • If a piece of ice hosting Parasite is derezzed, the Parasite continues to collect virus tokens, but the hosting ice has no strength while derezzed and therefore cannot be trashed by Parasite unless it is rezzed again.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraphs 7-8

Wyrm

  • The Runner can only use Wyrm to lower the strength of a currently encountered piece of ice, and only if Wyrm is of equal or higher strength than that ice.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraph 9

Account Siphon

  • The Runner can choose to not use the ability on Account Siphon when the run is successful. If he does, he does not take any tags.
  • If the Runner ends up running successfully on another server than HQ, the "If successful…" ability on Account Siphon cannot be triggered.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraphs 10-11

Forged Activation Orders

  • The Corp cannot rez Akitaro Watanabe in response to a Forged Activation Orders from being played. The effect of Forged Activation Orders is immediately resolved unless prevented or avoided.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Femme Fatale

  • Femme Fatale does not need to match the strength of a piece of ice in order to bypass it.
  • The Runner can spend the credit from Cyberfeeder to pay for the bypass ability.
  • If Femme Fatale is uninstalled, the Runner cannot bypass the ice chosen by the Femme Fatale when it was installed: the ability is no longer active since the card is no longer active. Even if that copy of Femme Fatale is re-installed, it is treated as a ‘new’ copy and cannot bypass anything other than the ice chosen when it was just installed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraphs 2-4

Sneakdoor Beta

  • If Sneakdoor Beta is trashed during a run it initiated, the run is still treated as a run on HQ if it is successful.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraph 5

Bank Job

  • The Runner can take credits from Bank Job if he made a successful run on an empty server.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraph 6

Net Shield

  • Net Shield prevents a single point of net damage. It does not prevent all net damage from a single source.
  • Multiple Net Shields cannot prevent more damage.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraphs 7-8

Aesop's Pawnshop

  • Aesop's Pawnshop can only trash a single card each turn.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraph 9

Aggressive Secretary

  • The programs are trashed at the same time.
  • The Corporation cannot choose to trash the same program more than once.
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraphs 10-11

Chum

  • If the Runner jacks out immediately after encountering a Chum and not breaking its subroutine, the Runner does not take any damage.
  • Chum deals its net damage the first time either of the following occur during an encounter with the next piece of ice:
1) a subroutine resolves
2) the run ends (includes bypassing) before all subroutines are broken
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraphs 12-13

Tollbooth

  • If the Runner cannot pay 3Credit when encountering Tollbooth, then the run ends without the Runner paying any credits.
  • The Runner must pay 3Credit if he is able to do so, even by spending temporary credits (such as bad publicity credits).
FAQ 2.0|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraphs 14-15

Red Herrings

  • If the Runner accesses an agenda from R&D and does not pay the additional cost to steal it, he does not reveal it to the Corp.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Aggressive Negotiation

  • Aggressive Negotiation can be played if the Corp scores an agenda during step 1.1 of his draw phase.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 2

Archer

  • If the Corp has an overadvanced Braintrust scored and rezzes Archer, forfeiting it, Archer gains the discounted rez cost.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Genesis Cycle

Mandatory Upgrades

  • If Mandatory Upgrades is forfeited, the Corp loses the additional click immediately. The Corp cannot choose to spend the additional click before the forfeit, except as part of his last action (at which point it has already been spent, and there is nothing left for the Corp to lose). Each player should keep a running total of each click that is available for them to spend, rather than look at clicks individually.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 4

TMI

  • TMI can be rezzed multiple times while the Runner approaches it. Timing structure of a run 2.3 is a window that allows the approached piece of ice to be rezzed. There is no limit to the number of times a Corp can rez an approached piece of ice if it is derezzed during this window.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 5

e3 Feedback Implants

  • e3 Feedback Implants triggers itself, so the Runner can break all subroutines on a bioroid ice by paying credits after spending a single click.
  • If multiple subroutines are broken at the same time, e3 Feedback Implants triggers once for each subroutine.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraphs 6-7

Fetal AI

  • The Runner must pay the 2Credit to steal Fetal AI from the Archives.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 8

Trick of Light

  • Trick of Light can only be used to move advancement tokens from an installed card to another installed card.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 9

Sensei

  • Sensei only adds a single "End the run." subroutine after all of the other subroutines on the next piece of ice, not a subroutine after each subroutine on the ice.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 10

Nerve Agent

  • Before accessing cards from HQ at step 4.5 of a run, the Runner chooses how many cards he wants to access when using Nerve Agent.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Snitch

  • If the outermost piece of ice on a server is unrezzed, the Runner can use Snitch to look at it and then decide to jack out before encountering it.
  • If the expose effect is prevented, the Runner can still jack out.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraphs 2-3

Dinosaurus

  • If there is an icebreaker already installed on Dinosaurus, the Runner can install a different icebreaker onto Dinosaurus, trashing the previously installed icebreaker.
  • If the Runner has no free MU but a Dinosaurus that is not currently hosting an icebreaker, he can install an icebreaker on Dinosaurus without trashing a program. Declaring that you are hosting it on Dinosaurus as part of the install action, and so the memory cost of the program does not need to be taken into account.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraphs 4-5

Personal Workshop

  • The Runner may use the first ability on Personal Workshop to host a program or a piece of hardware on it. Cards hosted by this ability are not installed, and therefore are inactive.
  • The Runner can pay to remove a power counter from a card hosted on Personal Workshop as a paid ability. A program installed from Personal Workshop follows all the normal install rules; you must trash already installed programs to make room for the new one, if necessary.
  • When there are no power counters on a program or a piece of hardware that has a play restriction on it that cannot be met (such as a Parasite with no rezzed ice to be hosted on or a console when there is already a console installed), that program or piece of hardware is trashed instead of being installed.
  • If Personal Workshop is uninstalled, all cards hosted on it are trashed and all counters on those cards are removed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraphs 6-9

Sunset

  • When resolving Sunset, the ice must be rearranged in such a way that the Runner knows which piece of ice moved where.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraph 10

Oversight AI

  • Playing Oversight AI does not give Engineering the Future 1 credit for an install.
  • Oversight AI is treated as a condition counter and not an operation when it is played.
  • Oversight AI is trashed to the Archives if the host ice is uninstalled.
FAQ 2.0|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraphs 11-13

False Lead

  • Flase Lead cannot be forfeited unless the Runner can lose 2 clicks.
  • The Corp can forfeit 2 copies of False Lead at 1.1 to force the Runner to lose 4 clicks. The turn advances to the Runner's discard phase after 1.2 resolves and the Runner has no clicks.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraph 1-2

Disrupter

  • Disrupter cannot be used once the Corp has bid during a trace attempt. It must be used when the trace being initiated, and it prevents the entire trace before re-initiating it.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Andromeda

  • When the Runner mulligans with Andromeda, he draws another starting hand of 9 cards.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraph 4

Midori

  • Midori can only be used at timing structure of a run 2.
  • Ice that is swapped is installed, but the install cost of the ice being installed does not have to be paid.
  • If the Runner exposes an ice with Snitch, Midori can still swap the ice unless the Runner jacks out with Snitch.
  • Midori must already be rezzed before the run in order to use her on the first piece of ice protecting the server.
  • Ice installed with Midori can be rezzed for 3 less cost with the Amazon Industrial Zone.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraphs 5-9

Creation and Control

Awakening Center

  • Ice hosted on Awakening Center can be rezzed through other card effects, but a rezzed piece of ice cannot be encountered unless it was rezzed by Awakening Center.
  • Only one piece of hosted ice on Awakening Center can be encountered per run.
  • Ice on Awakening Center are in the server and do not count as ice protecting the server.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraphs 10-12

Scavenge

  • The Runner can trash a program as an additional cost, and then reinstall that same program.
  • As part of the install action, the Runner can trash installed programs.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraphs 13-14

Same Old Thing

  • The Runner cannot use Same Old Thing to play priority events.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraphs 1

Spin Cycle

Pawn

  • Pawn can move onto a piece of ice hosting another caïssa, but other caïssa programs cannot move onto a piece of ice hosting Pawn.
  • The Runner cannot choose the Pawn that is being trashed as the program to install with Pawn because the trash and install are part of the same effect.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraphs 2-3

Rook

  • Rook can only move to another server if there is another piece of ice in the same "row" as the ice Rook is hosted on, counting up from the innermost piece of ice protecting each server.
  • Rook cannot be hosted on a piece of ice if it is already hosted on another non-ice card.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraphs 4-5

Bishop

  • Bishop only moves from a piece of ice protecting a central server to a piece of ice protecting a remote server, and vice versa.
  • Bishop cannot be hosted on a piece of ice if it is already hosted on another non-ice card.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraphs 6-7

Recon

  • The Runner can jack out the first time he encounters a piece of ice with Recon, even if it was not the outermost piece of ice protecting the server.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraph 8

Copycat

  • If a piece of ice is bypassed, Copycat still triggers since the ice is also passed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraph 9

Eureka!

  • You can install the card even if you cannot lower the install cost by 10 credits (the "if able" only refers to the install action).
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraph 10

The Cleaners

  • The Cleaners adds an additional point of damage to the source of the damage before any damage is prevented.
  • The Cleaners can add unpreventable meat damage if the source is also unpreventable.
FAQ 2.0|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraphs 11-12

Knight

  • Knight cannot move to a piece of ice that is vertically adjacent to the ice that it is hosted on. Knight can move to a piece of protecting any other server without restriction.
  • Knight cannot be hosted on a piece of ice if it is already hosted on another non-ice card.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraphs 1-2

Accelerated Diagnostics

  • Looking at the top 3 cards of R&D does not remove the cards from R&D. The cards are still in R&D and able to be affected by operations played with Accelerated Diagnostics.
  • Each operation the Corp looks at can be played in any order. The Corp does not have to play the topmost operation first.
  • When the Corp plays an operation, he fully resolves it before playing another one or trashing the rest of the cards.
  • If any o the 3 cards looked at are no longer in the top 3 positions of R&D (as determined when Accelerated Diagnostics was played), then those cards cannot be played.
  • The Corp can only play and look at the top 3 cards (as determined when Accelerated Diagnostics was played. Even if other cards are moved into the top 3, those cards are not eligible to be played/looked at by the Accelerated Diagnostics.
  • If one of the operations played shuffles R&D, the remainder of Accelerated Diagnostics' effect is ignored.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraphs 3-8

Sundew

  • The credits are gained when the Runner spends a click to initiate an action that does not make a run on the server Sundew is installed in, before the click is resolved.
  • If the Runner plays a run event to initiate a run on the server Sundew is installed in, the Corp does not gain 2 credits.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraphs 9-10

Power Shutdown

  • The Corp must choose X before trashing cards from R&D.
  • The Corp cannot choose a number that is greater than the number of cards in R&D.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraphs 11-12

Keyhole

  • The card trashed by Keyhole is trashed faceup.
  • If Keyhole is trashed during a run it initiated, the replacement effect is still resolved.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraphs 13-14

RSVP

  • The Runner can spend zero credits after the subroutine on RSVP resolves to trash cards or trigger paid abilities.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraph 15

Toshiyuki Sakai

  • The card that is swapped with Toshiyuki Sakai is installed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraph 16

Restoring Face

  • The Corp can trash a facedown card, but must reveal it to the Runner. The card is still trashed facedown.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraph 17

Subliminal Messaging

  • When adding a facedown Subliminal Messaging in Archives to HQ, the Corp must reveal it to the Runner.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Paintbrush

  • If the Runner does not make a run during the turn he uses Paintbrush, then the condition no longer applies and the ice loses any subtypes gained from Paintbrush.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 2

Caprice Nisei

  • Caprice Nisei's ability triggers at step 4 of a run.
  • If there is no ice protecting the server, Caprice Nisei's ability still triggers if she was rezzed before the run was initiated.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraphs 3-4

NAPD Contract

  • If the Runner accesses NAPD Contract from R&D and does not pay the additional cost to steal it, the NAPD Contract is not revealed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 5

Honor and Profit

Tennin Institute

  • The Tennin Institute can place advancement tokens on itself.
  • The Tennin Institute can place advancement tokens on Runner cards.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraphs 6-7

Tori Hanzō

  • The first net damage can be prevented/avoided before Tori Hanzō's replcaement ability resolves.
  • If teh first instance of net damage is prevented by another effect or replaced with Tori Hanzō's own effect, Tori Hanzō cannot trigger for the remainder of the run.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraphs 8-9

Iain Stirling

  • If Iain Stirling has a negative agenda point total, then he has fewere agenda points than a Corp with 0 or more agenda points.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 10

Security Testing

  • If Security Testing is uninstalled after a server is chosen, its ability cannot replace accessing cards if the first run on the chosen server is successful; the ability is no longer active since the card is no longer active.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 11

Overmind

  • Overmind is installed, and its MU counts against your memory limit, when it gains power counters.
FAQ 2.0|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 12

Lunar Cycle

Taurus

  • If the Corp's trace strength is 5 or greater, Taurus trashes a piece of hardware even if the trace was unsuccessful. This also applies to Gemini, Sagittarius, and Virgo.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Mother Goddess

  • Mother Goddess only gains the subtypes of other ice while it is rezzed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 2

Bad Times

  • The Runner can choose which memory to lose (eg, memory from Deep Red).
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Nasir Meidan

  • Nasir loses any bad publicity credits he has when his ability resolves.
  • An ice is considered "just rezzed" for Nasir's ability if it is rezzed at any time during timing structure 2 of a run.
  • Abilities which increase the rez cost of ice give Nasir more credits when his ability resolves. Likewise, abilities which reduce the rez cost of ice give Nasir fewer credits.
  • Abilities which require the Corp to pay an additional cost to rez ice do not give Nasir more credits when his ability resolves.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraphs 4-7

The Foundry

  • The Corp must find a piece of ice searched for, if able.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 8

Targeted Marketing

  • The Corp can choose to gain 10 credits when the Runner plays a current that trashes Targeted Marketing (if the current was named when Targeted Marketing was played).
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 9

Crisium Grid

  • The run is considered neither successful nor unsuccessful for the purpose of future card abilities, even if Crisium Grid is later trashed. (eg Tennin Institute will trigger if the only successful run the Runner made was against a server with a rezzed Crisium Grid.
  • Restrictions which require a successful run (eg Emergency Shutdown, Data Leak Reversal) cannot be used if the successful run was against a server with a rezzed Crisium Grid.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraphs 10-11

The Supplier

  • The Runner cannot use any "when your turn begins" abilities on cards that are installed by The Supplier until his next turn.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 12

Order of Sol

  • The Runner gains 1 credit even during the resolution of another ability (eg, paying the cost to play a Sure Gamble with 5 credits in the credit pool).
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Hostile Infrastructure

  • Hostile Infrastructure does not resolve when the Corp trashes his or her cards, even as a result of a Runner ability (e.g. Noise forcing the Corp to trash the top card of R&D).
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 2

Daily Business Show

  • If the Corp has multiple copies of Daily Business Show installed, the abilities stack on top of each other (e.g. two copies result in the Corp drawing 3 cards and adding 2 to the bottom of R&D).
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 3

Ekomind

  • The memory limit from Ekomind is modified by other card abilities (e.g. a Runner with 5 cards in his or her grip and an Akamatsu Mem Chip installed has 6 MU).
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 4

Leela Patel

  • If Leela steals an agenda while accessing multiple cards from HQ, she adds a card to HQ before continuing to access more cards.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 5

IT Department

  • Once triggered, IT Department results in a constant ability that continually tracks how many power counters are on the card.
  • IT Department always gives a piece of ice +1 strength due to the token spent to activate the card ability, even if there are no other counters left on the card or IT Department is no longer installed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraphs 6-7

Self-destruct

  • Self-destruct does not count itself as one of the cards trashed in order to establish the trace value.
FAQ 2.0|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 9

Order and Chaos

Gagarin Deep Space

  • The Runner can decline to pay the 1 credit to access a card.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Glenn Station

  • If Glenn Station is forfeited, any card hosted on it is trashed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 2

Mark Yale

  • If the Corp spends an agenda counter for Mark Yale's paid ability, he or she also gains 1 credit from his conditional ability.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Wormhole

  • The subroutine that resolves is not considered to be on Wormhole (e.g. when the Corp uses Wormhole with cards like Data Raven or Viktor 2.0, the power counters are placed on those cards and not on Wormhole).
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 4

Housekeeping

  • If the Runner has 1 card in his or her grip and installs it, Housekeeping has no effect and does not prevent that install. (Only forced trashing through damage can result in a flatline.)
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 5

The Twins

  • The Runner cannot jack out before encountering the ice again.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 6

Edward Kim

  • If the first operation Edward Kim accesses is in Archives, then he cannot trash another operation with his ability that turn.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 7

I've Had Worse

  • The Runner trashes all cards from damage before drawing for I've Had Worse.
  • I've Had Worse cannot prevent the Runner from being flatlined if teh Runner takes more damage than the number of cards left in his or her grip.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraphs 8-9

Itinerant Protesters

  • The Corp does not lose the game if he or she has a negative hand size.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 10

Eater

  • If the Runner accesses Archives after using Eater, all cards are turned faceup but no individual cards are accessed.
FAQ 2.0|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 11


Frequently Asked Questions


See also the Cards with FAQ category.

This section answers some of the more frequently asked questions that arise while playing Android: Netrunner.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 1, Paragraph 1


If the Runner steals an agenda from Jinteki using the core set identity, but has no cards in hand, who wins if the agenda gives the Runner his seventh point?The Runner wins the game. Whenever a player has 7 or more agenda points in his score area, the game immediately ends. The game ending takes precedence over any conditional ability that triggers when an agenda is stolen.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 1, Paragraph 2


When a piece of ice allows the Runner to break subroutines on it by spending clicks, does the Runner have to match the strength of the ice before using this ability?
No. The Runner only has to match the strength of a piece of ice with an icebreaker that he is using to interact with the ice. This ability allows the Runner to break subroutines by spending clicks without using any icebreakers.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 1, Paragraph 3


If the Corp rezzes an illicit piece of ice during a run, can the Runner spend the bad publicity credit immediately?
No. Bad publicity credits are only gained at the beginning of a run.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 1, Paragraph 4


Can the Runner use Datasucker to reduce the strength of a piece of ice before an ability on that ice triggers when it is encountered (such as a Tollbooth)?
No. Tollbooth ends the run unless the Runner pays 3Credit before the Runner has the opportunity to use a paid ability. See step 3 of a run.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 1, Paragraph 5


Can the Runner combine multiple effects to make a run, like using both Sneakdoor Beta and Account Siphon?
No. Using each of those cards is an action, and a player cannot take an action during the resolution of another action.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 1, Paragraph 6


The rules state that "The Runner cannot jack out while approaching the first piece of ice during a run." Can the Runner jack out after the subroutine on Cell Portal resolves and he is approaching the outermost piece of ice protecting the server?
Yes. "The first piece of ice" refers to the first time a piece of ice is approached during a run, and not the ice itself. The Runner approaches the ice and has the opportunity to jack out.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 1, Paragraph 7


There is a Parasite with 1 virus counter hosted on a rezzed Enigma, and the Runner has an Ice Carver installed. If the Runner encounters Chum, does not break its subroutine, and then continues the run and encounters Enigma, is the Enigma trashed?
No. Chum's ability is a required conditional effect that creates a constant +2 strength effect. When the Runner encounters the ice, both modifiers (Chum at +2 and Ice Carver at -1) apply at the same time and the strength of Enigma would be 2.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 2, Paragraph 1


If the Runner takes 4 brain damage from a single source, how many brain damage tokens would he get?
The Runner takes 1 brain damage token for each point of brain damage he suffers, even if it was suffered all at once. The Runner would get 4 tokens to mark the brain damage he has suffered.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 2, Paragraph 2


Where is an upgrade installed in a remote server?
An upgrade is installed in a remote server in the same position as an agenda or asset. The Runner should not be able to tell what type of card is installed in a remote server by its position. This is different than installing an upgrade in a central server, where it is always installed in the root.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 2, Paragraph 3


Can the Runner use multiple icebreakers on a single piece of ice?
Yes, although there are few situations where this is beneficial. But the Runner cannot use one icebreaker's strength to allow another icebreaker to interact with the ice.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 2, Paragraph 4


Does the Corp know what cards the Runner accesses from HQ?
Yes. The Corp should know what cards are accessed and in what order.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 2, Paragraph 5


Can the Runner trash an accessed card with Demolition Run before any "when accessed" conditional abilities resolve?
No. The card must be accessed before Imp, Demolition Run, or any other similar effect can be used to trash it, just as if the Runner was paying its trash cost.

FAQ 2.0|Page 12, Column 2, Paragraph 6


Can the Runner install a program if he has no more available memory units?
Yes. The Runner can trash any number of already installed programs before installing a new one (and must if there is not enough space for the new program). So if the Runner has no free MU, he can initiate an install action, trash any number of programs to free up MU, and then install the new program.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 1


The Runner chooses an unrezzed Archer as the target of a Forged Activation Orders. Can the Corp choose to rez Archer, but then decline to pay the additional cost of forfeiting the agenda?
No. If the Corp chooses to rez Archer, then as part of this choice he must pay 4Credit and forfeit an agenda. Otherwise, the ice is trashed.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 2


Can the Corp rearrange his installed cards within a single server, to obscure the order that he installed them in?
The Corporation must keep the order of his installs clear to the Runner; he cannot rearrange cards in servers however he likes.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 3


If the Runner gains a click with Joshua B. and then trashes the card using Aesop's Pawnshop, would he still take a tag at the end of the turn, considering Joshua B is no longer active?
Yes. The Runner would still take the tag, even though Joshua B. is no longer active, because "If you do…" is part of the same ability. Once an ability is triggered, it remains active and resolves unless prevented or avoided.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 4


Can the Runner use New Angeles City Hall to avoid the tags from an Account Siphon if they have 0 credits when the ability resolves?
No. The gaining of the credits and the taking of the tags resolves at the same time, so the Runner cannot use those credits to avoid the tags.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 5


If the Corp uses Efficiency Committee for extra clicks, can he then play Shipment from Kaguya and Trick of Light to place/move advancement tokens during that turn?
Yes. Placing or moving advancement tokens on a card is different than advancing it, and Efficiency Committee only stops the Corp from advancing cards.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 6


The Runner does not break a subroutine that specifies "Trash 1 program." Who chooses the program to trash?
The Corp chooses which program to trash. Unless otherwise noted, each player makes the choices required by the effects on his cards.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 7


Can the Runner use the recurring credit on Cyberfeeder to pay for using Femme Fatale's bypass ability or Darwin's gaining counters ability?
Yes. Triggering any ability on an icebreaker is considered to be using it.

FAQ 2.0|Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph 8


How does Rielle "Kit" Peddler's ability interact with bypassing a piece of ice? Is there anyway to bypass a piece of ice and make the next piece of ice a code gate?
There is no way to bypass a piece of ice and then make the next piece of ice a code gate. Rielle "Kit" Peddler makes the first piece of ice encountered a code gate, and this is a constant ability. The Runner encounters any ice bypassed, and cannot choose to resolve the bypass ability before Kit's constant ability, because the constant ability is always active.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 1


If the Runner has The Source installed and plays a Notoriety, does the clause "Add Notoriety to your score area as an agenda" cause The Source to be trashed?
No. Adding Notoriety to the Runner's score area is not the same as scoring or stealing an agenda, and so does not trash The Source.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 2


The Runner encounters Heimdall 1.0 and uses a click to break the first subroutine. If the Corp rezzes a Tyr's Hand and uses its ability to prevent that break, can the Runner spend another click to rebreak the subroutine?
Yes. Tyr's Hand prevents a subroutine from being broken once, but the Runner can break the subroutine again.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 3


If the Runner encounters Heimdall 2.0 and uses two clicks to break the first two subroutines, and the Corp uses a Tyr's Hand to prevent one of them from being broken, can e3 Feedback Implants be used to break that subroutine again?
Yes. Both subroutines are broken at the same time, and so the Runner can respond to the broken subroutine with e3 Feedback Implants.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 4


The Runner encounters Heimdall 2.0 and spends two clicks to break both of the first two subroutines. He then uses e3 Feedback Implants to break the third subroutine, but has that break prevented by Tyr's Hand. Can the Runner use e3 Feedback Implants again, or has the chance to use it now passed?
Yes, the Runner can use the e3 Feedback Implants again.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 5


How does Project Ares interact with Sacrificial Construct? Can the Runner choose to trash a Sacrificial Construct, and then trash that Sacrificial Construct to prevent another card from being trashed by Project Ares?
Yes. All installed cards being trashed by Project Ares are chosen at the same time, and the prevent ability on Sacrificial Construct can be resolved to prevent another card from being trashed.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 6


Can the Runner use Copycat after breaking the subroutine on Paper Wall?
No. Both pieces of ice must be rezzed to use Copycat.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 7


What happens if the Runner has a Blackguard installed and plays a Satellite Uplink?
Both cards are exposed simultaneously, and the Runner chooses the order that the Blackguard triggers resolve in.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 1, Paragraph 8


The Runner has Blackguard installed and exposes an Archer. Is the Corp forced to rez the Archer?
Blackguard only forces the Corp to pay the rez cost, if able. The Corp does not have to rez the Archer because he can decline to pay the additional cost of forfeiting an agenda.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 2, Paragraph 1


The Corp has two copies of Director Haas installed, one rezzed and one unrezzed. The Corp spends four clicks and then rezzes the second copy. Does the Corp have an additional click to spend?
No. Clicks are tracked as a running total and not individually. The Corp still has 4 clicks to spend on his turn, and he has spent 4 clicks, whether or not the additional click came from a different card.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 2, Paragraph 2


If the Runner did not break a subroutine on Hudson 1.0 and accesses an installed Toshiyuki Sakai, can he access the swapped-in card?
No. The Runner cannot access the card swapped with Toshiyuki Sakai because it is a new card and he has reached his access limit.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 2, Paragraph 3


Can I spend credits to boost the strength of an icebreaker, or break a subroutine on a piece of ice, if I am about to encounter a Tollbooth during step 2.3 of a run?
You cannot break subroutines outside of an encounter with a piece of ice, but you can boost the strength of an icebreaker.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 2, Paragraph 4


The Runner has Security Testing and Aesop's Pawnshop installed. At the start of his turn, the Runner names a server for Security Testing, then sells it to Aesop's Pawnshop. The first time he makes a successful run on that server, does he gain 2 credits instead of accessing cards?
No. A conditional ability can only resolve if the card it is on is active when the trigger condition is met, and Security Testing is no longer active after it is trashed. Security Testing has two conditional abilities on it (like Femme Fatale), unlike Joshua B., who has one.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 2, Paragraph 5


The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0 credits. If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are the 0 subroutines on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take the 3 net damage?
The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed, and the Runner takes 3 net damage.

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 2, Paragraph 6


If Security Testing is used on HQ and the Runner plays an Account Siphon, can he choose which replacement effect to use?
Yes. Both of the cards have the same trigger condition, so the Runner can choose the order that they resolve in (and thus which one is used).

FAQ 2.0|Page 14, Column 2, Paragraph 7


If the Runner uses a Tinkering on a Wendigo with one advancement token on it, is the Wendigo a code gate?
Yes. Gaining and losing subtypes are tracked as a running total, but having the subtype is a binary state. In this scenario the Wendigo had two code gate subtypes and loses one, meaning it is still a code gate.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 1


If the Corp has an active Enhanced Login Protocol, does it trigger the ability on a Heinlein Grid?
No. The additional click is spent to initiate the run, and is not spent during the run.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 2


If the Corp uses the ability on The Foundry during the resolution of an Accelerated Beta Test, what happens?
Each piece of ice is installed and rezzed one at a time. So the Corp installs the first piece of ice and then uses The Foundry to search R&D for another copy. This results in shuffling the other two looked at cards into R&D (they never actually leave R&D), preventing them from being either installed or trashed.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 3


Can the Corp add subroutines to a piece of grail ice in any order (by using other grail ice)?
Yes. The Corp can add subroutines to grail ice before or after any subroutines, including the subroutine printed on the card.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 4


If the Runner has 2 credits and an active Net Celebrity, does he have to pay 3 credits (including the Net Celebrity credit) when encountering a Tollbooth?
Yes. Cards with recurring credits (like Net Celebrity) or temporary credits (like Ghost Runner) have to be used if the requirement to use the credits on the card is met and an effect requires credits to be paid.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 5


If the Runner chooses Archives for Security Testing, and the Corp has Crisium Grid installed there, can Security Testing be used?
When the Runner makes a run on a server with Crisium Grid, the run is still successful but it is seen as neither successful or unsuccessful for the purposes of card abilities. Security Testing does not see that a successful run occured. If the Runner trashes the Crisium Grid and then successfully runs on Archives for a second time, the Security Testing triggers because it believes the first run was not successful or unsuccessful.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 6


What happens if the Runner uses Eureka! to install Angel Arena?
If Angel Arena is installed using Eureka!, then the X value the Runner chooses to pay is lowered by 10. So if the Runner paid 0 credits, he or she gets 0 power counters, because X was lowered from 10 to 0.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 7


If Valencia Estevez is playing against GRNDL, how much bad publicity does the Corp start with?
The Corp starts with 1 bad publicity.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph 8


If the Runner has a Hivemind with 1 virus counter on it and an Imp with no virus counters on it, can he use Virus Breeding Ground to move 1 virus counter to Imp?
Yes. Imp is considered to have the virus counters on Hivemind on it.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 2, Paragraph 1


What happens if the Runner steals an agenda worth 3 points, and the Corp plays Punitive Counterstrike with The Board rezzed? Does the Runner take 2 or 3 meat damage if the trace is successful?
The Runner would take 2 meat damage if the trace is successful, since the 3 point agenda is currently worth 2 points.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 2, Paragraph 2


Can the Runner use Incubator to move all the virus counters on Hivemind to another card? If so, does the Runner have to move all the virus counters or can he pick how many to move?
Yes, the Runner can and must move all virus counters from Hivemind to the chosen card when using Incubator.

FAQ 2.0|Page 15, Column 2, Paragraph 3



Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Card Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

View Original: File:FAQ 2.0.pdf


Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.