Make a run on HQ. Bypass the first 2 pieces of ice encountered during this run. If successful, you cannot access any cards.
Stirling entered the server, passing a growling piece of ice. He was unarmed... or so it seemed.

Related Rulings

  • The Runner cannot access any cards during the run initiated by Feint, for example through Raymond Flint or Shiro.[1]:Ruling
  • If the run initiated by Feint is deflected to another server, the Runner can no longer use Feint's bypass effect.[2]:Ruling
  • If Guard is the first piece of ice encountered during a run initiated by Feint, the Runner can still bypass the second ice encountered after breaking Guard.[3]:Ruling


  1. Limited Access Ruling
    If I have Raymond Flint in play (access 1 card from HQ when the corp gains 1 bad publicity) and I run on HQ with feint (cannot access any cards), and he rezzes an ice which gives him bad publicity, do I access any cards? (ok ignore this one, the cannot access part of feint only comes up when the run is successful, need some sort of upgrade that gives bad pub for this to matter )

    If I have raymond flint in play and I run on a remote server, I hit a Hudson 1.0, I choose not to break it (I cannot access more than 1 card during this run), and I access a Clone Retirement in the server (the corp gains 1 bad pub), can I access a card from HQ with raymond flint?

    If I do the above, but I use raymond flint during the run (the corp rezzed a bad pub ice) to access a card from HQ, and cannot access more than 1 card during this run due to not breaking hudson, then run successfully, and want to use bank job. I have accessed my 1 card that I am allowed to, can I use bank jobs replacement effect?

    It is assumed that Lukas meant not breaking both of Hudson 1.0's subroutines.

    You cannot access any cards with Raymond Flint if you play a Feint. And if you have already accessed a card, then you cannot access another card with Raymond Flint after running through a Hudson 1.0 and breaking both subroutines.

    In the last case, you can still use the Bank Job as a replacement effect.
  2. Run Events with Mid-run Effects Ruling
    In the past, there have been rulings that any event that starts a run on a particular server and then does something upon success does not resolve if the server that was run is changed. However, what about in the case of Feint, where there is an effect during the run as well (bypassing ice)? If I play Feint, bypass one ice (let's say Ice Wall for tradition's sake), and then use Copycat to jump to another server with a rezzed Ice Wall, do I still get to bypass a second ice on that server, or is the remaining effect of Feint null and void at this point? To add even more confusion, what happens if I end up back on HQ by some means (like a Bullfrog)? Would I pick up where I left off with Feint (assuming the effect stops after the first jump)?
    If you jump to a new server with Feint, then the ability no longer applies and you do not bypass another piece of ice. Of course, you would be able to access cards if the run is successful. If you jump back to HQ then you could bypass a second piece of ice IF you did not encounter another piece of ice. (Feint just cares about the first two pieces of ice encountered, and the game remembers if you encountered another one). That said, I do not think it is possible, so realistically you lose the second bypass.
  3. Feint v. Guard Ruling
    Sorry should have been clearer. Can you still bypass if you break Guard? One bypass after guard or two?
    Ah gotcha. You only bypass one since you still encountered the Guard.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.