Installing is the action of playing a card onto the table, usually from hand. Both the Corporation and Runner can install one card from HQ/grip as an action during the Action Phase on his/her respective turns. As part of an install action, there is often an option to first trash other cards of similar type, depending on the type of card being installed.
Each type of Corporation card has its own installation restrictions and associated costs. See each card type for details on the install cost and restrictions for cards of that type. The Corporation must keep the different types of cards, where they are installed, and whether or not they are rezzed clear at all times; s/he cannot rearrange installed cards or attempt to muddle the install order of cards.
The Corporation's installed cards have two play states: rezzed, which means that the card is faceup and active, and unrezzed, which means that the card is facedown and inactive. The Corporation can look at his unrezzed cards at any time. To rez an installed card, the Corporation pays its rez cost and turns the card faceup.
Note: Rezzing a card does not cost the Corporation a click.
To organize this hidden information for both players, it is important that the Corporation observes the following rules for card orientation:
Agendas, assets, and upgrades are always installed in a vertical orientation.
Ice is always installed in a horizontal orientation.
When installing a card in a server, the Corporation can first trash any cards already installed in that server. Trashed cards go to Archives faceup if they are rezzed, and facedown if they are unrezzed.
If the Corporation wants to install an agenda in a remote server that has an asset or an agenda already installed in it, he can install the card but must trash the existing card first as part of the install action. The Corporation does not have to trash upgrades in order to install an agenda or an asset.
If the Corporation wants to install an agenda in a remote server that has an asset or agenda already installed in it, he can install the card but must trash the existing card first as part of the install action.
"When installing ice, the Corporation can first trash any ice protecting that server in order to reduce the install cost. Then, he installs the new piece of ice in the outermost position in front of the server.
Suppose Turtlebacks are installed and rezzed, and that I have a second remote server which is empty (only ice).
I install a new piece of ice protecting that remote, trashing all the ice already installed. Do I get 1 credit from Turtlebacks, because the server ceased to exist as soon as there were no cards in or protecting it? The server does not cease to exist because it is being worked on. It is impossible to destroy a server by installing cards.