A paid ability is a type of triggered ability with a trigger that is an associated cost. After paying the cost to trigger the ability, its effect resolves. Paid abilities can only be triggered during specific windows during the timing of a turn and a run, but they can be triggered any number of times during those windows as long as the player triggering the ability can pay the cost. During those windows, players take turns passing priority for activating abilities.

A paid ability that has a trigger cost involving one or more Click is called a click ability.

Page 11, Column 2, Sidebar, Core Rule Book
Paid Abilities

Some card abilities have trigger costs that a player must pay before the effect of the ability can be resolved. These abilities are called paid abilities. A card's trigger cost is always listed in its text box before the effect, following the format "cost: effect."

The most common costs are spending clicks (Click), spending credits (Credit), trashing the card (Trash), and spending hosted counters. Some effects feature a combination of costs.

If the player cannot pay the full cost of an ability, he cannot trigger it.

Page 21, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5, Core Rule Book
In order to trigger a paid ability, a trigger cost must be met. The most common trigger costs are spending clicks, credits, or hosted counters, and trashing cards. A card's trigger cost is always listed in its text box before the effect, following the format "cost: effect." A paid ability can be triggered an unlimited number of times as long as the cost is paid and any restrictions specified by the effect are observed. Paid abilities can be triggered at the beginning of each turn, before and after each player action, and at certain points during a run, unless the ability requires a click, in which case it must be triggered as an action. An example of a paid ability is the card Magnum Opus, which reads, "Click: Gain 2Credit."

Trashing as a costEdit

If the cost of a paid ability is trashing the card with the ability (as indicated by the Trash symbol), then the ability still resolves even though it is no longer active.

Page 22, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 1, Core Rule Book
When trashing a card as part of a trigger cost for its own paid ability (Trash), the effect on that card will resolve even though the card is no longer active.

This trashing of the card is the cost of triggering the ability; if that trashing is prevented, the ability cannot resolve.

Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 1, FAQ
If the cost of a paid ability requires a card to be trashed, then preventing that card from being trashed prevents the cost from being paid and the paid ability does not resolve.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.