As constant abilities, Parasite and Ice Carver have higher priority than Tollbooth's "when encountered" conditional ability. They can trash Tollbooth before the Runner has to pay 3Credit. Datasucker is a paid ability and can't be used until during the encounter after the "when encountered" ability resolves.


Corp has Tollbooth. There is a Parasite on it with 4 counters, making it currently strength 1

Runner has Ice Carver in play and runs. "All ice is encountered with its strength lowered by 1."

Is the ice trashed before the runner has to lose 3 credits? I was reading somewhere about the active player choosing the order of effects, and if it is the runners turn, could he choose to process Ice Carver effect first, then Parasite, killing it before he has to pay the 3Credit

In a follow up question, lets say that there was only 2 Parasite counters on the ice, but the runner has Datasucker in play with 2 tokens on it. "Hosted virus counter: Rezzed piece of ice currently being encountered has -1 strength until the end of the encounter. " That says "currently being encountered", so I think you would have to lose 3Credit from Tollbooth before you get to use it, whereas Ice Carver says that the ice is encountered at strength -1.


Tybb-sly The Tollbooth would be trashed before its conditional ability triggered. You have two different constant effects (Ice Carver and Parasite) which combine to knock it off before the Tollbooth can force the Runner to pay credits.

Datasucker counters could not be used until after Tollbooth's ability. "When encountered" conditional abilities are resolved before there is an opportunity to trigger paid abilities.

Implications Edit

  • Constant abilities have higher priority than conditional abilities
  • If a piece of ice is trashed, any unresolved conditional abilities that have been triggered are prevented from resolving

Source Edit

Posted to Fantasy Flight's forums by Paul Grogan on September 11, 2012

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.